As of January 1, 2014, the Syracuse Section is now formally recognized as the Central New York Section of the American Chemical Society, or CNY ACS for short.


Now our name matches our mission as we continue to be a resource for chemistry and science in the CNY area.

Executive Committee

  • Chair: Jonathan French
  • Past-Chair: Valerie Lopez Diaz
  • Chair-Elect:John Franck
  • Councilor: Alyssa Thomas
  • Alternate Councilor: Miriam Gillett-Kunnath
  • Treasurer:¬†Neal Abrams
  • Secretary: Jeremy Steinbacher
  • District Delegate: Alyssa Spear
  • District Delegate at-large: Liam Marshall
  • District Delegate at-large: Sara Talebi
  • Education Chair: Miriam M. Gillett-Kunnath
  • Editor – The Chemist: Gary Bonomo